Film Food: The Twinkie Wiener Sandwich from UHF

Weird Al's UHF

Weird Al’s UHF

What do you expect when you watch a movie starring Weird Al Yankovic? You expect weirdness of course! And his food choices fit in perfectly. UHF is the only movie starring the king of the song parody, and his sense of humor is evident throughout. Watching this movie as a kid, I thought it was the most hilarious thing in the world. There was one part of it I had always wanted to try, but never got the chance… until now. To echo the words of Pete Venkman: “What about the Twinkie?”

The Twinkie Wiener Sandwich; a Twinkie cut in half, with a hot dog in the middle and Easy Cheese along the top. Sounds tasty, right? …My wife didn’t think so either.

Ingredients:
1 Twinkie
1 hot dog
1 long squirt of Easy Cheese

IMG_6884
The first incision.

IMG_6885
The hot dog was a little too long for the Twinkie. I think maybe when Twinkies came back from the dead, they shrunk them a little bit. Or maybe I just used a big hot dog! Either way, I put my hot dog to one side so my first bite would have the appropriate dog to Twinkie ratio.

IMG_6888
The final step to the delicacy, the American Easy Cheese. This is the step where the train goes off the rails. Fake cheese and Twinkies…

Twinkie 5
Final verdict: It wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever eaten. It pretty much tasted like a sweet hot dog. However, I can’t see myself ever trying it again. The cheese squirt added some flavors and textures that were just plain wrong!

That was kind of a crazy one! What film foods would you like to see me try in the future?

2 thoughts on “Film Food: The Twinkie Wiener Sandwich from UHF

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

