Blogs From Geekdom’s Top Ten Comic Book Movies

guardians_poster
This was harder than I thought it would be. I assumed I could easily pick my favorites. That part really was easy. The trick came when I had to whittle that down to just 10! I think I managed to pull it off and I think you’ll agree with me on most of them. But if not, you’ll get your chance in the comments. Bring it on!

Yesterday, during my post for National Comic Book Day, I warned you this was coming. My top ten favorite movies made from comic books!  Comics mostly deal with superheroes, but that is not always the case. Howard the Duck (recently teased in a post-credits sequence) is not a super hero by any means. Blade would be hard to define as a super hero as well. You’ll find that not all of my picks are superheroes either! So here we go!

  • 10) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990)
    The first live-action Ninja Turtles was exciting and fun. It’s sequels were either too silly (Part 2), or too dry (Part 3). And the new remake has the turtles looking like a Public Service Announcement for This-is-what-can-happen-to-you-if-you-use-steroids. The heroes of the original were likeable and youthful, just as they should be!
  • 9) Josie and the Pussycats (2001)
    The makers of Josie did not take themselves to seriously. They knew they were just making a movie, so they decided to have fun with it! The delightful over-the-top boy band, the excessive advertising in a movie where the plot revolves around advertising, the adorable Rachael Leigh Cook! This movie is a pleasure to watch every time I put it in!
  • 8) Batman (1989)
    As I explained in a previous post, Batman is the movie that sucked me into super heroes. A simple costumed super hero fights insane super villain story. Only one bad guy, and highly entertaining. Unlike the remainder of the series which got convoluted with bad scripts and bad acting, Batman is still great!
  • 7) The Dark Knight (2008)
    Like it’s predecessor above, Batman is again fighting the Joker is this more realistic version of the Caped Crusader. It’s less comic book styled than Batman, but it still works. It’s easily the best of the modern series.
  • 6) Iron Man (2008)
    This is the film that really launched the current Marvel Universe. But it’s more than that. Its a great origin story of a selfish man that comes to be a hero for others throughout his story arc. Robert Downy, Jr. does a terrific job making Tony Stark cocky, yet likable.
  • 5) Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
    This was a great underdog story. The scrawny weakling that the government buffs up to be a hero. We pitied him at first and rooted for him as he suffered through his trials on his way to becoming a hero. We were even left with a bitter-sweet ending. Some great movie making elements here!
  • 3) Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
    When I sat down to watch this movie, I didn’t know what to expect. What I got was a film that took the superhero genre and said, “No, we’re gonna do it our own way!” It had a new, fresh feel (ironically with a classic soundtrack), that made it seem like it was more than just another comic book movie. Plenty of humor, action and good acting in this terrific movie.
  • 2) Men In Black (1997)
    A secret underground society tracking down aliens. Will Smith during the height of his acting career. Tommy Lee Jones’ deadpan delivery. Well done special effects. What’s not to like?
  • 1) The Avengers (2012)
    The super-hero movie like no other to date. The Avengers could easily have been on overproduced loser. Instead, we get a film that manages to balance all of its stars, give us lots of humor and action (and heroes!), and tell an interesting and exciting story. The culmination of a set-up spread across 5 earlier movies over a period of 4 years earns The Avengers my number 1 spot.

So many movies just barely fell off the list. Mainly because I had to hold it to ten. Some honorable mentions should go out to X-Men, The Rocketeer, Superman II, and Iron Man 3, but this list above are really the top comic book films I have seen.

Now it’s YOUR turn. Do you agree? Disagree? Feel outraged that I left something off? Let me know your comments!

32 thoughts on “Blogs From Geekdom’s Top Ten Comic Book Movies

  1. My first favorite has always been Batman with Michael Keaton and Jack Nicholson. But I also liked Spiderman with Tobey MacGuire. You know, I think my all-time favorite was the first X-men movie with Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ouch! Not a Batman fan! That hurts! Haha.
      I really did try to like Thor. I saw both movies in the theater and everything! I just found him too cocky to be likable. I didn’t dislike the movies, they just ranked about the same as Iron Man 2 for me. It was ok, but not my favorite.
      Are you a Loki fan too? That’s an obsession I just don’t get! So many many people love Loki (girls mostly)!

      Like

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

