Film Food: Butterbeer from Harry Potter

Harry, Ron and Hermione drinking butterbeer

Harry, Ron and Hermione drinking butterbeer

How do you make butterbeer? Good question. And the internet provides dozens of different answers. I’m a little nuts, so I chose what must have been the most complicated recipe available…

After a thorough search of the interweb, I found two recipes that sounded interesting. One was super easy and one was decidedly more difficult. According to the website, the recipe I chose was put out by the Associated Press soon after The Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened in Orlando. That was the comment that sold it for me. My wife and the Geek Spawn have been to the park, so I wanted to see if I could give them the experience again. Here is what I did…

Ingredients
1 cup brown sugar
2 Tbl water
6 Tbl butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cider vinegar
3/4 cup heavy cream, divided
1/2 tsp rum extract
4 12-oz bottles of cream soda

Butterbeer 1
Mix the brown sugar and water together over Medium heat.
Wait for it to start boiling and reach 240 degrees (I used a candy thermometer, ‘cuz this is definitely candy!)
Then stir in butter (Yep! There’s butter in this butterbeer!), salt, vinegar and 1/4 cup of cream
Remove from heat
When it reaches room temperature, stir in rum extract
That was the complicated part. It was a lot more involved than I typically like my drinks. Usually, I just open the can and enjoy.

Now, add 2 Tbls of the mixture to the remaining 1/2 cup of cream and whip until creamy but not fully whipped. (About 2 min)
Set aside.

Butterbeer 2
Pour the brown sugar mixture into 4 large cups (I used our official butterbeer mug from the park), about 1/4 cup each. It looks gross, and smells potent!

Butterbeer 3
Pour 1/4 cup of cream soda into each cup and stir it up. It will get a frothy foam on the top.
Add cream soda until its near the top, but leave space for the froth and whipped cream.
Put 1/4 of your cream mixture on top of each and…

Butterbeer 4
Enjoy!

The final verdict from this recipe: The first thing you notice is a very strong salty taste. It was so intense, my wife immediately went looking for more cream soda to dilute it. (She didn’t find any, because the Geek Spawn had polished it off!) After that, you realize that the froth and the cream seem a little redundant. Once you’ve reached this point, you get to the liquid which tastes like thick salty cream soda. Eventually the foam solidifies a bit and large chunks come in with every swallow. The flavor is intensely sweet. About halfway through, you are wishing you had smaller glasses.

So, no, I didn’t really like this recipe. Next time I attempt butterbeer, I’m going to use the uber-simple recipe. It only has three ingredients and one of them is ice cream! Yum!

Have YOU tried butterbeer? Did you make it or have it at the park? What did YOU think of it? Talk to me!

4 thoughts on “Film Food: Butterbeer from Harry Potter

  1. Pingback: Film Food: Butterbeer from Harry Potter (Recipe 2) | Blogs From Geekdom

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

