Film Food: Nobby Buns from Hot Shots

hot-shots
This is a strange Film Food because it wasn’t actually consumed in Hot Shots, but rather it appeared as recipe during the credits…

As most movies brought to us from the makers of Airplane!, several jokes appear throughout the credits. In Airplane! right after the listing for Best Boy is a listing for “Worst Boy – Adolph Hitler.” Top Secret has “This space for rent.” written in a blank space during the credits. The Naked Gun lets us know, “In case of tornado – Southwest corner of basement.”

Hot Shots follows that trend. Midway through the credits the audience is given a recipe for Nobby Buns.

Nobby 1
Being the diligent movie fan that I am, I had to try out the recipe. Being the diligent blogger that I am, I had to write about it.

Ingredients
4 c flour
2 Tbls cinnamon
3 eggs
1 1/2 c sugar
1 c butter

Nobby 2
Cream the butter, eggs and sugar together. Add flour and cinnamon.
Drop onto greased cookie sheet in lumpy (nobby) balls.
Cook at 375 for about 7 minutes.

Nobby 4
I made most mine sort of small so I could share them with some kids in my youth group, but they can be made any size.

Nobby 5
This was a larger one. But it tasted exactly the same.

The verdict… Nobby Buns are excellent! Very tasty! The best way to describe them would like cinnamon biscuits. I tried them a few different ways. One plain, one with butter and one with honey. All were very good, but a warm, buttered Nobby Bun is my favorite! Due to their small size, I just kept popping them in my mouth till I got a belly ache. They were really good! I’m glad they weren’t a joke too!

Do they sound good to YOU? Let me know!

One thought on “Film Food: Nobby Buns from Hot Shots

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

