Office Tchotchkes… Party Time! Excellent!

Office Pic 1
Most every office in the world has some sort of knick-knack, a doo-dad, or tchotchke (pronounced: “chotch-key”). My office almost nothing but! This Office Tchotchke blog focuses on my favorite Friday night public access host…

Office Wayne

Historical Background
Prior to having two hit movies… Well, one hit movie and a lackluster sequel… Wayne’s World was a hilarious skit on Saturday Night Live. The setup for the skit was that Wayne (Mike Myers) and his nerdy best friend Garth (Dana Carvey) hosted a public access TV show on Friday nights from Wayne’s mom’s basement. They would have guests on their show, top ten lists, and loads of catch phrases- usually revolving around rock music, hot girls, or general silliness.

Cultural Impact
When the Wayne’s World movie came out in 1992, it was the most hilarious thing I (and many other teenagers) had ever seen! I immediately ran out and bought the soundtrack and a sweet Wayne’s World baseball cap. (Unfortunately, Mr. Robertson, my band teacher, took the hat away during a football game and I never saw it again. But am I bitter? Nah!) The phrases uttered by Wayne and Garth quickly became part of the slang fro the typical 90s teenager. (“We’re not worthy!”) They were the first ones to change the meaning of their sentence to the opposite by putting “Not!” at the end: “Wow, what a totally amazing excellent discovery— NOT!”

The Tchotchke
Truthfully, I have no idea where I picked this one up. Wayne is part of a collection of Saturday Night Live characters. I think I found him at a Spencer’s or similar-type store and bought him. Wayne’s World was an important part of my youth and I knew I had to have it! This trinket sits on his dusty perch in my office, rocking on forever!

If you were a teen in the early 90s, odds are you loved Wayne’s World too. What do you remember most about Wayne and Garth?

 

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

