Super Bowl Sundays

The official logo off of Wikipedia

The official logo off of Wikipedia

I don’t really give a flying fig about football. But I love TV, parties and learning. So here are some interesting(?) factoids about the biggest game of the year.

I’ve never been a sports guy. When I play Trivial Pursuit, I avoid the Sports category like the plague. I will go to the games of my sporty students, but I rarely watch sports on TV. I make an exception for the Super Bowl because it’s a great excuse to have a party! (Although, I have also been known to watch a Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen movie marathon instead… don’t ask.)

Each year I host a Super Bowl party for my youth group. The festivities include snacks, soda, board games, and the TV on with the game showing. I say it’s showing. Some people even watch it. But many of the kids take advantage of the time to hang out with their friends and play games. I’m one of those kids!

Just for kicks, I looked up some info about sports’ biggest day. And you get to enjoy too!

  • The first Super Bowl was held in 1967
  • The name “Super Bowl” is derived from the Super Ball toy
  • The name was suggested by Lamar Hunt, then owner of the Kansas City Chiefs
  • The first winning team was the Green Bay Packers defeating the Chiefs
  • The winning team receives the Vince Lombardi trophy
  • The trophy is named for the former coach of the Green Bay Packers
  • As of 2015, the Pittsburgh Steelers have the most Super Bowl wins, with 6
  • As of 2015, the Denver Broncos have the most Super Bowl losses, with 5
  • New Orleans and the Miami area are tied for hosting the most Super Bowls at 10 each
  • The 2014 Super Bowl (XLVIII) had 112.2 million viewers, the highest watched show ever
  • Michael Jackson’s halftime show in 1993 increased viewership of the game significantly
  • Advertisers have paid as much as $3.5 million for a 30-second commercial
  • Phil Simms of the New York Giants was the first to say “I’m going to Disney World” after Super Bowl XXI
  • This year’s game is between the Seattle Seahawks (1 win) and the New England Patriots (3 wins)
  • Instead of using the Roman numeral “L”, the 2016 game will be called “Super Bowl 50”

What do you remember most about previous Super Bowls? Let me know below!

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

