Awesome Soundtrack Mix

GOTG
We bought The Nerdling a copy of the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack CD. She listen’s to it over and over! Here’s why…

The soundtrack itself is called Awesome Mix: Volume 1, a reference to a cassette tape that Peter Quill, AKA Star Lord, listens to throughout the movie. It’s a bit of a misnomer since not all of the songs on the soundtrack are from his Awesome Mix: Volume 1. But it’s still a fun reference to the movie.

Here are the songs and a mention of the greatness involved:

  • Hooked on a Feeling by Blue Swede – The “ooga-shaka” song. So good. The Nerdling listens to it over and over. I remember it best from the Ally MacBeal dancing baby, but it’s still a great song today!
  • Go All the Way by Raspberries – Least favorite on the CD. Fairly forgettable.
  • Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum – This is one of those sneaky songs with a Christian message that actually got really popular. You know why? Because it’s awesome!
  • Moonage Daydream by David Bowie – Meh. I usually skip this one too.
  • Fooled Around and Fell in Love by Elvin Bishop – Not originally one of my favorites, but I liked it’s use in the movie, and it’s grown on me.
  • I’m Not in Love by 10cc – The first song in the emotional beginning of the movie. I put it on my “slow” songs list to play at the next school dance!
  • I Want You Back by The Jackson 5 – A total classic. Always fun. Young Michael Jackson and that Motown sound.
  • Come and Get Your Love by Redbone – This song is played during the opening credits. I’ve heard it before, but I love it now! It works so well in the film and it’s really fun!
  • Cherry Bomb by The Runaways – I can’t imagine that Star Lord’s mom actually put this song on the mix tape for him. It doesn’t seem to fit the rest of the style. But The Nerdling loves it!
  • Escape (The Piña Colada Song) by Rupert Holmes – Pretty famous song, but really kind of depressing when you actually listen to the lyrics of the verses. But the chorus is oh so catchy!
  • O-O-H Child by Five Stairsteps – Hilariously random use in the movie. Makes it more fun to listen to on the CD.
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell – This song is a peppy and upbeat way to end the CD. Always great to listen to!

This is one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard this decade. And ironically, it’s all 70s music! But that doesn’t matter. It totally works in the movie and it’s totally fun to groove with!

What are your favorite songs on here? Comment me!

3 thoughts on “Awesome Soundtrack Mix

  1. If I had to pick one … “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” –I also love the Diana Ross version. It is a pretty great mix –as a teen, my dad and an oldies radio station got me hooked on 60s-80s music. =P There’s also a two-disc soundtrack out that has both the “mix tape” and a disc with the film score (I believe composed by Tyler Bates?) My local library had a copy, so I borrowed it there. I think I need to see GotG for context, but I still liked the score!

    Like

    • 60s-80s is some of the best music out there! I noticed the score/soundtrack version as I was doing my post. I bet I’d enjoy that, but I wouldn’t want to buy it again…

      Like

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

