How I’m Spending My Chinese New Year

Chinese-New-Year1
In what is rapidly becoming an annual tradition, my youth group and I will be spending today celebrating Chinese New Year in the usual way: Chinese food and a movie! But what food? And what movie??

Each year, we gather together at our local Chinese restaurant to pick up our dinner. The choice of restaurants is easy… It’s the only Chinese restaurant in town! This is the only part of the night that costs money. They order what they want to eat, or if they want to save a few dollars, they order nothing! One year we even had a couple from church offer to donate money toward the dinner so everyone got free food!

We try to watch a movie that has something to do with the particular animal being celebrated. Last year (2014) was the year of the horse, so we watched Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron. This year is the year of the goat. That’s right, the goat! What the heckΒ do you watch on the year of the goat??? The only movie I found was Goats, an R-rated movie about a kid, his hippie mother, and his father: Goat Man. We don’t do R-rated movies for youth group… and it looked stupid, so we passed on that. I thought we might be able to get away with The Hunchback of Notre Dame since Esmeralda has a pet goat, or even Hercules with its half goat character, Phil. Sometimes this year is also called the Year of the Sheep, so I thought maybe Babe. In the end I let the students pick. They decided to go with the obvious choice: Mulan.

Chinese-New-Year2

Am I Chinese? Nope. Do I observe Chinese New Year? Not really. Is Chinese New Year a Christian holiday? Not even sort of. So why do I have a party for my youth group on Chinese New Year? The answer is simple: I needed to put something on an empty event calendar a few years ago and Chinese food is delicious! I honestly don’t even know that much about the day beyond what Wikipedia told me.

According to Wikipedia: “Chinese New Year is an important Chinese festival celebrated at the turn of the Chinese calendar. In China, it is also known as the Spring Festival, the literal translation of the modern Chinese name. Chinese New Year celebrations traditionally run from Chinese New Year’s Eve, the last day of the last month of the Chinese calendar, to the Lantern Festival on the 15th day of the first month, making the festival the longest in the Chinese calendar. It falls between January 21 and February 20. Because the Chinese calendar is lunisolar, the Chinese New Year is often referred to as the “Lunar New Year”.”

I do have respect for people of all cultures. I think it’s part of what makes this world so fascinating! I love being able to take part in celebrations of various cultures. Especially when the food is so good!

How would you finish this? “I celebrate Chinese New Year by…” Comment me!

 

8 thoughts on “How I’m Spending My Chinese New Year

  1. Hi, it’s interesting to know that people other than Chinese are aware of Chinese New Year. I am a Chinese myself, and because I live in Asia, we always think that people outside of our boundaries are unaware of the “different” new year we celebrate.

    As Chinese, we celebrate Chinese New Year by observing traditional rituals and customs, such as family visiting and exchanging Mandarin oranges. It can be pretty routine for me every year. Have a happy Chinese New Year! Next year is the year of the Monkey, FYI.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚
      Not too many celebrate Chinese New Year in my area. But I’m sure it’s more common in bigger cities.
      What is the symbolism with the oranges? I find that very interesting. When you say ‘exchanging,’ does that mean to you bring someone oranges and they also bring you oranges?
      Year of the Monkey… I think I should be able to find a movie about monkeys… I hope! πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Yeah, each party brings a pair of oranges and we exchange them as a traditional ritual. The oranges are an auspicious symbol, since the Chinese word for orange is homophonic to the word that means ‘auspicious’.

        Yeah, I just realized that bigger cities are more aware of Chinese New Year. Disneyland celebrates it as well, I just read from someone else’s blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My family doesn’t celebrate Chinese New Year every year (cuz we’re not Chinese), but we did sort of kind of this year. All we did was get Chinese takeout, though this watching Mulan idea is a good one πŸ˜‰

    Alexa S. Winters
    thessalexa.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s hard to pass on the food! We have a girl in the youth group that doesn’t like Chinese food. we all think she’s crazy! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

