Office Tchotchkes… Button it!

Office Pic 1
Most every office in the world has some sort of knick-knack, a doo-dad, or tchotchke (pronounced: “chotch-key”). My office almost nothing but! This Office Tchotchke blog focuses on an ever-growing collection of personal flair…

Office Pic Buttons
The Wifey got a button maker to help promote her books. Ever since, she has used it once and I have used it over and over again. We make buttons for the kids at Youth Group parties, to cheer on a Super Bowl team, to give away at Comic Cons, to throw out to the kids at camp, and many other silly causes.

When I wear a button, it doesn’t stay on long. Sometimes just long enough to show it off and give it away. The ones that survive a whole day on my shirt often end up here, on my office bulletin board.

The blue one in the top left I made myself. During the Charlie Sheen debacle a couple years ago, I thought it would be funny to wear a button with his face that simply said “Winning.” And it was! Several people asked me to make them one.

The next three on the top row were buttons I got while I was leading Vacation Bible School at church.

All of the little ones were buttons I got at Salt Lake City Comic Con. If you signed up with your information at a specific booth, they gave you a button. So I signed up. Then I did it again on a different side of the booth. I signed up several times throughout the Con. I signed up when they were closing down and they let me take a handful of super hero buttons! I gave some away, and kept my favorites:

  • Phoenix (I think)
  • Wonder Woman
  • Spider-man
  • Punisher
  • Aquaman
  • The Flash
  • Green Lantern
  • Deadpool
  • Joker and Harley Quinn
  • Batman (classic)
  • Batgirl
  • Batman (traditional)

The other large button is a homemade TARDIS button from Doctor Who. It was one of the many designs for Comic Con.

The round pictures on the left side of the Blogs From Geekdom webpage have all been buttons that I made for Comic Con. I wear them around, then when someone says they like it, I give it to them. Why not? It’s fun. I gave a 10th Doctor button to a worker at Wendy’s during the Boise Comic Con and he very kindly gave us a discount on our lunch!

Are you a button fanatic? Do you have them all over a jacket or backpack somewhere? Which of my homemade button designs do you like the best? Let me know in the comments…

 

2 thoughts on “Office Tchotchkes… Button it!

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

