The Newest Pixar Movie is Not a Sequel!

Inside Out is the newest film coming from Pixar. I have a lot of Joy as I anticipate this movie, but some of those other emotions are in there too…

There are so many emotions tied up in that two minute trailer…

Joy – The movie itself looks like a lot of fun. Silly jokes, great animation and enjoyable characters. A lot of good chuckles come out just in the trailer and most of those are taken out of context. I can’t wait to see what they do with the rest of the film. I also like the girl’s name, “Riley.” A fresh addition to the Disney world. I am curious however; Riley’s mom’s head all women, her dad’s head is all men, but Riley’s head is a mix of both… Didn’t her parents have parents too?

Sadness – 4 out of 5 of the emotions are negative. Without Joy, Riley is completely lacking a positive emotion. Not too different from the world she lives in I guess. Reading through the Comment section on the trailer’s YouTube page provides you with about 80% negative comments, the same ratio as Riley’s head.

Anger – Nothing about the trailer itself makes me angry. Reading comments about it does though. Let people have their opinions without insulting them, patronizing them, ridiculing them or otherwise belittling them! Sheesh! I’ve really got to stop reading comments on the interweb.

Disgust – The thing that disgusted me was the stereotypical father character. He only thinks about sports, he’s emotionally disconnected from his family, he leaves the toilet seat up. Hilarious stuff. -_- However, I do have high hopes for the rest of the movie. There are brief shots of him, playing living-room hockey with his family, and hugging and supporting both his wife and Riley.

Fear – Will this movie be as entertaining as it promises? Will it spawn a plethora of sequels like so many of it’s predecessors? Will this be a rehash of the 90s sit-com Herman’s Head?

Herman's Inside Out

For reals, I’m looking forward to this one. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Brave, and I was not wanting another sequel. This should be a welcome addition to the Disney/Pixar family! What do you think? Are you looking forward to Inside Out? Comment me!

One thought on “The Newest Pixar Movie is Not a Sequel!

  1. Pingback: Inside Outness | Blogs From Geekdom

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

