Home of The Goonies!… Astoria: Part 1

Astoria 0
Have you ever vacationed alone? This weekend, I went to my favorite non-Disneyland place on the planet all by lonesome. Welcome to Astoria! No, not in Queens… Astoria, Oregon!

Vacationing alone has its advantages: You don’t have to visit anything you don’t want to see, no one complains about being bored or tired, everything costs less, it’s all about you!

I’ve been to Astoria many times, so I know what I like to do, and when I ran out of time, it was chill because I’ve seen everything before. Let me run you through my adventure… complete with selfies!

Astoria 1
First stop, sea lions! These amusing guys completely overrun this boat dock at certain times of year. I watched them for a really long time. They climb all over each other, go in and out of the water, and make a lot of noise! They’re so loud, you can hear them from my next stop…

Astoria 2
The Goonies house! That’s right! The Goonies was one of several movies made in Astoria. Most of which were made in the late 80s to early 90s. Others include Short Circuit, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III, Free Willy and…

Astoria 3
Kindergarten Cop! Here I am at the school where Arnold Schwarzenegger taught a gaggle of kindergarteners all while trying to track down a killer!

Let’s hold up there. Astoria is like an onion. It has many layers. Hollywood is only one of them. So we’re going to stop at the Astoria film industry for this post. BFG is going to spend three days on Astoria, and tomorrow is history day… See you then for more selfies!

3 thoughts on “Home of The Goonies!… Astoria: Part 1

    • Haha, yep! That’s what stands out for most people. It’s getting so busy, that they make people park way up the street and walk two blocks to get to it.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Not Astoria… Astoria: Part 3 | Blogs From Geekdom

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

