Drag Me Away

dragmetoposter
At the advice of my sister-in-law, my Wifey, Geek Spawn and I watched Drag Me to Hell. I feel it is my duty to give you a brief report. No spoilers…

I didn’t really want to see it until I realized it was a Sam Raimi movie. The director of the Evil Dead trilogy and Spider-Man gets a pass in my book. I enjoy his movies usually, so this had some potential.

The general premise, without giving away spoilers, is that a cute young bank clerk rejects a elderly gypsy woman for an extension on her house loan. The angered gypsy puts a curse on the girl which she quickly learns causes a demon to torment her for three days before… that’s right, dragging her to hell.

I suppose the pacing of this movie could best be compared with Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn. It starts out very suspenseful and creepy, and as the climax of the movie builds, more comical horror things start happening. It wasn’t awful, but I wanted more of the humorous elements. Also, as my sister warned me, excessive amounts of fluids pour out of people’s bodies.

drag2

I also had issue with the lack of God anywhere in it. If a demon is attacking, maybe haps God would be more likely to stop it than say a bearded fortune teller. Just saying…

Okay, that’s one humble blogger’s opinion. What’s yours? Comment me!

4 thoughts on “Drag Me Away

  1. I have to agree. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this movie. Figured it would be better than it was and felt kinda cheated….. Shame on your sister-in-law for recommending this. Did you do something to piss her off? lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

