Ant-Man Was Just OK

antman0002
I know, it’s really easy to get excited about a movie just because it’s set in the Marvel Universe. But not all of them have been great films (The Incredible Hulk). Ant-Man falls into that category…

It was not bad, but it was not great.

My first big issue was its pacing. Not much happens for the first 20 minutes. A lot of flashbacks and set-up. And even by the end of the film, I feel like it’s just ready to begin. For an origin story, it’s all origin and not much story. My second issue is… mind controlled ants. I imagine this is all the responsibility of the comic book, but gimme a break. I realize it’s a comic book movie and I tried to get on board, but it’s pretty far fetched.

Paul Rudd did fine, but I really didn’t like the look they gave Evangeline Lilly.
antman2

The tie-in to the Marvel Universe is blatantly obvious as a fight scene takes place at the new Avengers headquarters established at the end of Avengers: Age of Ultron. The scene feels like it was added specifically to tie into the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but it works. I would have liked to see a more popular Avenger showcased, but Ant-man had his short fight with Falcon. It almost felt like a scene from Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. more than a Marvel movie. However a major Avenger does appear in the post-credits sequence.

Okay, well the movie is still too new to reveal any spoilers. I will say that the single most amusing bit in the whole movie was the explanation from Scott Lang’s roommate of how he came by his information. Go check it out for yourself and let me know if you think it’s worthy of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Comment me!

4 thoughts on “Ant-Man Was Just OK

  1. I gotta say, I really loved Antman. I didn’t think I would; upon watching the trailer, I mentally declared it the lamest movie of the year and planned to never, ever watch it. Then my brother convinced me to go with him and a friend, and I totally loved it. True, the mind-controlled ants thing is kinda out there, but this is Marvel, lol. I think we passed far-fetched a couple movies back, hehe 🙂

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • LOL… perhaps you’re right! Well, I’m glad it’s finding an audience. I think they were going for another Guardians of the Galaxy comedy. But it was only a little humorous. I did love the retelling of info at the beginning and end. Even a Stan Lee cameo!

      Like

  2. I enjoyed this film – some of the scenes from Ant-Man’s point of view were so entertaining – it gave such a unique perspective of life in miniature! Hope you stayed watching until the end of the credits too, otherwise you would have missed the two bonus clips!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

