Office Tchotchkes… I Swear I Saw a Dragon

IMG_0101[1]
Most every office in the world has some sort of knick-knack, a doo-dad, or tchotchke (pronounced: “chotch-key”). My office almost nothing but! This Office Tchotchke blog focuses on an old fashioned version of a fun Disney soundtrack…

Historical Background
Ever since the overwhelming success of Mary Poppins, Disney was looking for another hit in a similar style. They made a few attempts to mix live action with cartoon segments over the years following Poppins. The most obvious and blatant knockoff was Bedknobs and Broomsticks, a musical in a British setting with a long segment taking place in an animated world… hmm, where have we seen that before? Pete’s Dragon was similar but with a twist. Now the cartoon character was a member of the cast acting in a real-life environment.

Cultural Impact
The original Pete’s Dragon was a Disney film from 1977 that captured the hearts of audiences young and old. Not the most successful of Disney movies, but still fun to watch even today especially for those of us that grew up with it. However, my two kids both still enjoy this one today. The song Candle on the Water was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Song, but was beat out by You Light Up My Life. Candle on the Water was a hit for Helen Reddy who was already famous for singing I Am Woman (hear me roar). You can find out more in in yesterday’s blog about the upcoming Pete’s Dragon remake: Pete’s Dragon Blog Post

The Tchotchke
The tchotchke itself is a record of several songs from the film and some of the story too. The interior of the record case contains the book of the movie, but sadly mine is missing a few pages. And, since this is 2015, I don’t actually own a record player anymore so I’ve never had the opportunity to listen to it. I just thought the cover was fun and I really love the movie, so when I found it at a thrift store for $.50, I nabbed it and hung it on my wall!

IMG_0102[1]

Are you a Pete’s Dragon fan? Do you own a record player still? Comment me!

 

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

