Top Ten Disney Princess Movies

Princess1
Disney Princesses are more famous than any actual princess ever. They live in the imaginations of little girls and adult children everywhere. We here at BFG have to admit that some of the princess movies are excellent. Whether it be for production value or just good storytelling, a few of those princess flicks are really good movies. In honor of the upcoming Moana, Here are my top ten favorite Disney princess films…

The criteria for me to include a movie as a princess movie has been established in a previous post. Check here to see what determines a girl to be a princess.

Now pronouncing the top ten list of Disney princess movies.

  • 10) The Black Cauldron (1985)
  • 9) Pocahontas (1995)
  • 8) The Little Mermaid (1989)
  • 7) Frozen (2013)
  • 6) Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937)
  • 5) Aladdin (1992)
  • 4) Hercules (1997)
  • 3) Tangled (2010)
  • 2) Sleeping Beauty (1959)
  • 1) Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Peter Pan is definitely higher on my list than many of these, but I felt that Tiger Lily was far too minor of a character to really justify it as a princess movie. And while Mulan is one of my favorite Disney movies, Mulan is not a princess!

Princess2

What are your favorites? Comment me!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Disney Princess Movies

  1. Lol, I love Mulan too! But she totally isn’t a princess; she’s even better! And my favorite Disney princess movie is probably Tangled. Unless Star Wars counts now, lol.

    BTW, who’s the princess in the picture at the top?

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Black Cauldron, I haven’t been able to see yet, so I can’t speak to that.

    Pocahontas, I loved the animation, the bittersweet love story, though using historical characters inaccurately really knocked off points in my book.

    The Little Mermaid, I liked the songs, but I didn’t really love Ariel as a character –she didn’t quite connect with me.

    Frozen –I’m a total Frozen Fan … still not tired of the soundtrack yet. As an oldest I relate to Elsa’s responsibilities and pressures, but I think I’m most like Anna (but she was meant to be the imperfect, doesn’t-know-she’s-pretty, loving, loyal, ordinary girl you can relate to).

    Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs –as the first animated feature film, it definitely deserves it’s place on a top ten!

    Aladdin – I need to watch this … I’ll probably love Jasmine’s feisty-ness or be frustrated with her.

    Hercules – I love Megara for “I Won’t Say I’m in Love” alone … great soundtrack. I didn’t think she was a princess, but I got your reasoning! =) Also, the stylization decisions for the animation was different and I think worked for the film.

    Tangled – Best. Princess. Ever. –Just kidding, but Rapunzel is my favorite DP.

    Sleeping Beauty – I wasn’t as disappointed with Sleeping Beauty as I was with seeing the animated Cinderella for the first time since childhood earlier this year. I L.O.V.E. the animation in this film.

    Beauty and the Beast –I barely remember watching this as a kid, so a re-watch is in order. From what I’ve heard of and remember about Belle, I think she would easily be in my top five.

    My favorites would probably end up being Tangled, Frozen, Sleeping Beauty, The Princess and the Frog (you didn’t mention Tiana?! Not my favorite storyline, but I loved Tiana and her work-hard-for-your-dreams attitude), Beauty and the Beast, Hercules, Aladdin …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Black Cauldron is not an amazing movie, but I like Eilonwy. She’s playful but still sincere, dedicated and kind. Inaccurate history annoys me too. (But for some reason I love Cool Runnings even though it’s WAY off). Megara – great song! Tangled is an all around entertaining movie. Well made! Sleeping Beauty is on my list for one reason… the outstanding animation. I absolutely love it! B and B is not one I liked at first. That more I saw it, the more I appreciated the characterization of each different person… or candlestick.

      Like

      • The Black Cauldron is one of the few Disney films I keep hearing about from the 80s, so while I’m sure it’s probably not as great as some of their other animated films, it must be one of the highlights from that era? =) Eilonwy sounds cool (both her name and personality). LOL, I remember that movie! I haven’t seen Cool Runnings in ages.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Black Cauldron has a lot of meh moments. And it’s really dark. The book series it’s based on is really good though. Eilonwy is a good name!

          Like

Leave a reply or watch Indiana Jones 4, your choice.

